Photography: Baston and Co’s VicParkLife

baston co website 3

I was absolutely honoured when both Lee & Derek Baston of Baston & Co Property approached me, for a photography project. You see this project all began when Lee saw some photos of local cafe Harvest Espresso that I had shot and mentioned on Twitter that she’d love one on her wall. I thought she was joking. She wasn’t. I’d never actually met Lee before but, like many locals, I followed both Lee and her husband Derek on all the social media outlets and knew they had a great reputation (and they had followed me because I was always talking about Vic Park).

Next thing you know I met both Lee and Derek in person (that transition between social media follower to meeting in person is so strange!) and now we’d moved from a picture on the wall to a range of photos to be used on their new website (among other things) celebrating all that is the #vicparklife. (For those who don’t follow Lee & Derek on Twitter or Instagram, the hashtag #vicparklife was started by their blog, also named Vic Park Life, and is now used by many Vic Parkians in social media).

The brief seemed straightforward, they already loved my style so I simply had to capture that #vicparklife. It took some time, some day to day living, some eye opening, some conversations and it certainly meant I had to take my camera with me everywhere. I actually started to worry that I might end up being known as that ‘crazy local lady with a camera’.

What I loved most about this project, aside from Lee & Derek’s enthusiasm, was the conversations I had with so many fellow Vic Parkians. I met with business owners and asked for some of their precious time to take some snaps, I got asked many times what I was taking photos of, or what for. But best of all, it made me fall in love with Vic Park all over again. I saw all the beauty of this place we live in and I hope the photos make you want to live there too. Here are some snapshots from the website.

You can also check out more images on the website here: www.bastonandco.com.au

The front page image changes 

baston co website 1.2 baston co website 1.3 baston co website 1.4 baston co website 1

Some images are used like headers

baston co website 6 baston co website 2

Some images are sliced between text or used to break up text

baston co website 4

baston co website 5

And one of my favourite parts, photos of the staff- nothing cheesy or posed about this. These were real conversations in a local cafe! 

baston co website 7

Big shout out to the team at Eduka for using my photography and putting together such an awesome and beautiful website!

Categories: photographyTags: , , , , , , ,

Kat

Mama. Graphic designer. Photographer. Eco enthusiast. Perpetual DIY'er. Vic Park Community Geek. Feisty red head.